Medical and Scientific Advisory Council

The Medical and Scientific Advisory Council (MSAC) is comprised of pre-eminent clinicians and researchers.

The MSAC represents expertise in microbiology, genetics, brain circuitry, epidemiology, and related fields. These scientists conduct peer-review of research applications for recommendation to the Board for funding. Members set the directions of research and participate in focus workshops.

Mahlon R. DeLong, MD
Scientific Director
Emory University School of Medicine

Jesse Goldberg, MD, PhD
Cornell University

Mark Hallett, MD
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

N. Charles Harata, MD, PhD
University of Iowa

Jill Ostrem, MD
University of California, San Francisco

Coro Paisan-Ruiz, PhD
Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Alvaro Pascual-Leone, MD, PhD
Harvard Medical School

Joel Perlmutter, MD
Washington University

Christian Schlieker, PhD
Yale University

Thomas Schwartz, PhD
Massachusetts Institue of Technology

Kristina Simonyan, MD, PhD
Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Yoland Smith, PhD
Emory University

Peter Strick, PhD
University of Pittsburgh

Cynthia Comella, MD - ex officio
Rush University Medical Center/Dystonia Study Group

H.A. Jinnah, MD, PhD - ex officio
Principal Investigator, Dystonia Coalition

Beth-Anne Sieber, PhD
Federal Liaison

Accelerating Research & Inspiring Hope

The Dystonia Medical Research Foundation (DMRF) has served the dystonia community since 1976. Join us in our global effort to find a cure.